It’s an OCC-OCC-OCD World! (October 2014)

Friday, October 24, 2014.

It’s 7 am, and I’m listening to the far-off whistle of the train. I am so thankful for the cool fall air and this calm morning sunrise. I don’t see or hear any birds, though. It’s either too cold for them, they’re sleeping late, or the parish has sprayed so much insecticide for mosquitos, that there’s not much left for the birds to eat—except for those pesky, fat, green, leaf-eating worms, that like to hide on the underside of the leaves on my citrus trees! The squirrels are even quiet this morning. They’ve been laying low since hunting season has started! (I just wish this was the start of my day, instead of merely a prequel to my next 4-hour nap, which is a very poor substitute for a much-needed full-night’s sleep!)

This month we experienced two eclipses: a total lunar eclipse, or Blood Moon, on Oct. 8th, and a partial solar eclipse, on Oct. 23rd. Students of Biblical prophesy point to the increasing frequency of Red Moons as indicative of the approaching End Times.
IMG_3821.PNG

And ye shall know that I am in the midst of Israel, and that I am the Lord your God, and none else: and my people shall never be ashamed.

And it shall come to pass afterward, that I will pour out my spirit upon all flesh; and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, your young men shall see visions:

And also upon the servants and upon the handmaids in those days will I pour out my spirit.

And I will shew wonders in the heavens and in the earth, blood, and fire, and pillars of smoke.

The sun shall be turned into darkness, and the moon into blood, before the great and the terrible day of the Lord come.

And it shall come to pass, that whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be delivered: for in mount Zion and in Jerusalem shall be deliverance, as the Lord hath said, and in the remnant whom the Lord shall call. (Joel‬ ‭2‬:‭27-32‬ KJV)

“The sun shall be turned into darkness, and the moon into blood, before that great and notable day of the Lord come:

And it shall come to pass, that whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be saved.” (Acts‬ ‭2‬:‭20-21‬ KJV)

This has been a month of both accomplishments and procrastinations for me. The accomplishments aren’t anything major: making phone calls, scheduling and keeping some medical appointments, getting the cars serviced, and even doing some sporadic exercising. But, for many manic-depressive OCD’s, including me, staying on top of even ordinary things can be difficult. I’ve tried making lists and schedules, but always become compulsive about making and adding to them, without ever accomplishing many of the objectives listed, and eventually losing each of them, in one of the many piles of papers that seem to always accumulate around me.

What I did manage to accomplish was to get a backhoe ordered for my husband to do some drain work, as well as getting him in to see his dermatologist about some skin cancers. I made it to my cardiologist, to check on some recently-higher-than-usual blood pressure readings. I took my car in for an overdue oil change and factory recall fix, and both my daughter’s and my husband’s cars in for some engine repair work. And finally, I made a commitment to help someone to write a book about their Christian spiritual ministry to the youth their community.

The tasks I’ve yet to accomplish include getting all our credit cards changed due to the Home Depot security breach, researching and ordering a four-stall carport, and making a trip across the state to actually begin collaborative work on the ministry book. Hopefully, I will use the flush of my recent successes to spur me on to complete these tasks as well.

Wish me well!

IMG_3827.JPG

